Allo' Expat Georgia - Connecting Expats in Georgia
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Georgia Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Georgia
Georgia General Information
History of Georgia
Georgia Culture
Georgia Cuisine
Georgia Geography
Georgia Population
Georgia Government
Georgia Economy
Georgia Communications
Georgia Transportations
Georgia Military
Georgia Transnational Issues
Georgia Healthcare
Georgia People, Language & Religion
Georgia Expatriates Handbook
Georgia and Foreign Government
Georgia General Listings
Georgia Useful Tips
Georgia Education & Medical
Georgia Travel & Tourism Info
Georgia Lifestyle & Leisure
Georgia Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Georgia Government


Despite considerable progress made since the Rose revolution Georgia is still not a full-fledged democracy. Political system remains in the process of transition, with frequent adjustments to the balance of power between the President and Parliament, and proposals ranging from transforming the country into parliamentary republic to re-establishing the monarchy.

The head of state is the President, who is elected for a term of five years. His constitutional successor is the Chairman of the Parliament. The president appoints a Prime Minister, who serves as the head of government. Notably, the ministers of defence and interior are not members of the Cabinet and are subordinated directly to the President of Georgia.

The Parliament of Georgia (Sak'art'velos Parlamenti), also known as the Umaghlesi Sabcho (Supreme Council), has 235 members, elected for a four year term – 150 seats by proportional representation, 75 in single-seat constituencies and 10 given to the representatives of the displaced persons from the separatist region of Abkhazia. According to the constitutional amendments passed in 2003, the parliament will consist of only 150 members elected with the proportional representation system and will be fully refurbished.

Georgia has a Supreme Court, with judges elected by the Parliament on the president's recommendation, and a Constitutional Court.


Country name :
conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Georgia
local long form: none
local short form: Sak'art'velo
former: Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic

Government type :

Capital :
name: Tbilisi
geographic coordinates: 41 43 N, 44 47 E
time difference: UTC+4 (9 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

See more information on the next page... (next)





copyrights ©
2015 | Policy